Capacity Australia, supported by international senior human rights colleagues and senior health and aged care professionals will bring you a live debate on the need and relevance of Nursing Homes in society. The systemic, political and human failures in the aged care sector have been laid bare during the COVID crisis at an international level. In Australia we are also in the midst of a Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety and this debate is timely as we navigate the economic, health and human rights issues surrounding aged care.

When:

Sydney: 6:00 am, 2 September 2020
London: 9:00 pm, 1 September 2020
Toronto: 4:00 pm, 1 September 2020
Tel Aviv: 11:00 pm, 1 September 2020
Copenhagen: 10:00 pm, 1 September 2020

Debate Format

  • Welcome: Professor Carmelle Peisah, Capacity Australia  
  • Opening statements (each 3mins), perspectives from a broad range of representatives from different countries and cultures
    • Professors Nahathai and Tinakon Wongpakaran (Chang Mai University, Thailand)
    • Professor Kaarin Anstey (UNSW Ageing Futures Institute)
    • Mr Paul Bolster (The Australian Royal Commission Aged Care)
  • Debate Live Moderator Professor Andrew Byrnes (Professor of International Law, UNSW Sydney)

Speakers

For the Affirmative

Opposing

Cost

Early Bird $95 AUD (closes 5pm 28th August). Normal rate $180. Price includes viewing and participation in the live debate, abstracts from all speakers and access to the recording.

We’d like to thank the UNSW Ageing Futures Institute for their support of our Global Debate. The UNSW AgeingFutures Institute was established to optimise ageing for individuals and society through interdisciplinary research. They tackle real-world issues and opportunities that come with an ageing population.

Read about the Institute at: https://research.unsw.edu.au/ageingfutures